San Polo Business ParkLa Verne LandscapeLa Verne City HallHeritage Park Gazebo

La Verne

City of

2017 City of La Verne General Municipal Election

City of La Verne General Municipal Election

Tuesday, March 7, 2017

The City of La Verne will conduct a General Municipal Election on Tuesday, March 7, 2017, to fill three seats on the City Council, including the Mayor’s two-year term and two members of the City Council for four-year terms.

The candidates for the following offices are in the order listed below as determined by the Secretary of State’s randomized alphabet draw:

Mayoral Candidates 

  • Tim Hepburn, City Council/Businessman
  • Don Kendrick, Mayor 

City Council Member Candidates  

  • Keith Garwick, Forensic Science Instructor
  • Muir Davis, Senior Project Manager
  • George Karr, MBA/JD Candidate
  • Robin Carder, City Council Member
  • Matthew Lyons, Deputy District Director

 The candidate statements are available in the City Clerk’s Office.


  • February 6 - 28, 2017  
    Voters May Request Vote by Mail Ballots

  • February 16, 2017
    Meet the Candidates Forum
    Download flyer: 2017 Meet The Candidates Forum Flyer
    Watch the "Meet The Candidates Night" on LVTV
    - Friday, 2/17 @ 9:30 PM
    - Saturday, 2/18 @ 1 PM and 8 PM
    - Sunday, 2/19 @ 3 PM and 1:30 PM
    - Monday, 2/20 @ 7 PM
    - Tuesday, 2/21 @ 7 PM and 9 PM
    Watch the La Verne "Meet the Candidates Night" on YouTube:

  • February 20, 2017 
    Last Day to Register to Vote

  • March 7, 2017   
    Election Day
    Polls are open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

  • April 3, 2017
    Mayor & City Council Members take office,
    City of La Verne Council Chambers, 
    3660 D Street, La Verne


Link to Los Angeles Register-Recorder Election Information:

For more information or to obtain specific information in Spanish, please contact the City Clerk’s Office at 909-596-8726.